Weight aids–finding your seat.

Dale Forbes

One morning in Germany, Rudolf walked over to me just as I had dismounted and took a quick look at my saddle.   Like him and Schultheis at the time, I rode (and still ride) a Stubben Tristan “Extra,” designed by Herr Schultheis eons ago.  It is known as a saddle for an experienced rider because it does not “put” you anywhere–as has become the fashion of late in saddlery.

After the quick inspection Rudolf said, “This is good. The marks are correct.” 

 

IMG_0150

What he was talking about were two fairly symmetrical, about two-inch-wide and round wear spots (sweat marks, if you will!) in my saddle.  I thought really nothing of them.  But I began to notice that not all the riders’ saddles were marked that way.  Some had really no marks at all–a sign that the thigh held the rider away from the saddle.  Some had one central mark toward the rear of the saddle–a sign that the rider habitually rotated the pelvis to sit on the coccyx.

When I first rode with Rudolf Zeilinger, in a five-day clinic in the US in 1989,  he was asked what he thought the biggest problem with riders in America was.

His answer: “The seat–there is not enough use of the weight aids.”

I am sure this sent most of us into a frenzy of sitting like bricks, driving our pelvises mercilessly against the horse.

This was of course not his intention. . . More is not always better or appropriate to the situation.

For a visual example please see the clip in https://dressagesnob.wordpress.com/2013/02/07/swing-over-the-back/

Several things go into using the seat correctly.

psoas.jpg.w300h225

The first is that the rider must be oriented evenly on the line of travel.  Unfortunately, this is often not the case.  Many riders adopt a perpetual semi-shoulder in.

It’s easiest to think of this going on a straight line.  The seat bones are allowed to settle into the saddle. (And it is allowing–there is no correct way to force this–though you can do some stretches both in and out of the saddle that help.)

The upper body remains carried, but not tense, the muscles of the cross of the back connecting the shoulder and torso to the pelvis.  The front of the rider has an elongated feel, stabilized by the diaphragm (which will feel slightly pushed out just under the ribs in front) and psoas muscles, which are a group of much-ignored and fairly constantly used elements of standing and stabilizing the torso–as well as some hip flexor capacity. (Remember “flexor” means also length–relaxation and suppleness are important.  This set of muscles tend to get contracted and tight.)

psoas_major_and_min.jpg.w180h241-2

The correct use–a stretching sort of feel–of this group of muscles is what makes certain schools of good dressage riders look very grounded, but also as if they are sitting tall.

psoas_sagittale.jpg.w300h231

They are not doing this to adopt a pose.  They are doing it because in order to not constantly grab with the thigh (which stabilizes but also immobilizes the pelvis), they have to go to alternate means. (See below.)

Re posture: PT experts who know far more than I describe it thus: “The primary balancing act occurs between upward tension exerted by the diaphragm, and downward force exerted by the psoas major. An optimal balance of this mechanism contributes to efficient co-contraction of the small segmental stabilizers. This helps provide a strong stable abdominal cavity.” (http://conorpcollins.com/?p=1393)

(Please see article under rider fitness: https://dressagesnob.wordpress.com/2013/05/08/locating-your-diaphragm/)

In other words–core strength, not limb strength (or external muscle rigidity) is the goal.

Note: The alternate method is to stabilize externally–typically either grabbing inward with the thigh or locking the knee under some sort of thigh block.  These methods have their strengths and weaknesses.  Many successful riders adopt this pattern of external rather than internal stabilization.  The downside of external stability is that the seat is never actually in contact with the saddle in a moving, communicative manner, acting more like an off-and-on switch rather than a dimmer. The downside of internal  stability is that developing a flexible/strong connection–not weak, flexible–takes some time.

Again look at the clip in post: https://dressagesnob.wordpress.com/2013/02/07/swing-over-the-back/

In the end it is a matter of taste, time, ability, and goals.  But, those decisions, in my very humble opinion, are often the difference between mastery and competence.

Hint: Going to the gym and lifting weights will probably not help develop your seat.

Dale’s view? Pilates is probably a better option.

Back to the seat!

And a quick note about an important question Melynnda asked in the ride yesterday that illustrates not only how persistent one must be to develop a good seat, but also how easy it is to get sidetracked.

Melynnda has a very good seat, and she is also a very good student.  So she stopped for a moment when I asked her to support with her leg at slow speed and said,  “If I use my leg in the transition it locks my pelvis and I can’t regulate the movement.”

A very good point!

I explained, showing her from the horse I was riding, that as I used my calf and at the same moment softly stretched the front of my my pelvis forward–in effect “looking” for the tree of the saddle,  my thigh moving just a little downward with each step, I retained the flexibility and connection I needed.  (And the four-year-old I was riding started to piaffe, so I stopped!)

Note: There is nothing  new in riding–it’s been around a while–if we just listened and understood  Musler’s advice  in Riding Logic (http://www.amazon.com/Riding-Logic-Wilhelm-Museler/dp/0851319513)  He describes this very well using the image of pushing the book on the table back on the table with your pelvis so you get an extension of the front, which keeps mobility.

Back to Melynnda on her horse! Given “new” information, which she had now found usefu, (as in great piaffe on the horse she was riding), Melynnda looked at me, eyebrows up, and blurted out:

“How come you never told me this?” (Good student!)

Of course, I told her I had withheld this tip because I wanted to collect years of training money and become rich at her expense.  (BAD Dale!)

The real answer is, I had told her, but there is more than one way to use your seat; and to quote Rudolf on almost any question asked, It depends on what you want to accomplish. 

And by the way, though Rudolf commented on my saddle, and I watched a lot of other people, nobody ever  actually told it to me.  Very few people actually do it well, let alone think about it.

And now, if you want to see what to do with your correctly positioned seat, you can look at another post:

https://dressagesnob.wordpress.com/2013/01/20/what-do-do-with-your-seat-now-that-you-have-found-it/